Revolut’s UK lending expansion faces PRA governance review as bank plans to sell loans
Oct. 27, 2026 • Article • Banking & Payments
Revolut’s expansion into UK consumer lending is facing closer regulatory scrutiny. The Financial Times reported on October 27, 2026, that the Bank of England’s Prudential Regulation Authority had ordered a Section 166 skilled-person review of the bank’s product approval processes and internal risk governance. The review comes as Revolut offers unsecured personal loans and prepares to introduce a domestic credit card, with mortgages planned later.
Revolut UK CEO Francesca Carlesi has said the bank intends to package and sell loans through securitisation rather than retain substantial long-term credit exposure. Revolut is targeting a loan-to-deposit ratio of roughly 6%, far below the roughly 100% typical of incumbent British high-street banks. The strategy could support lending growth while limiting loans held on its balance sheet, but it does not eliminate credit risk. S&P Global has cited the possibility of higher credit losses as Revolut expands lending across multiple jurisdictions.
Revolut’s push into UK consumer lending is drawing regulatory scrutiny as the bank tries to expand credit without building a large loan book. The Financial Times reported on October 27, 2026, that the Bank of England’s Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA) had issued a Section 166 skilled-person review order examining Revolut’s product approval processes and internal risk governance.
The review comes as Revolut offers unsecured personal loans and prepares a domestic credit card. It also puts attention on the bank’s proposed approach to lending: Revolut UK CEO Francesca Carlesi has said it plans to package and sell loans rather than retain substantial long-term credit exposure. A review of governance is not, by itself, a finding that the bank’s controls have failed. It does, however, make those controls a central issue as Revolut adds credit products.
Lending growth with a smaller loan book
Revolut’s unsecured personal loans range from £2,000 to £25,000, with annual percentage rates of 6.9% to 29.3% and repayment terms of one to five years. The range of rates matters because borrowers taking the same type of product may face substantially different borrowing costs. For Revolut, offering the loans also means making decisions about creditworthiness and managing the risk that borrowers do not repay.
Carlesi has said Revolut plans to offload credit risk by packaging and selling loans through securitisation. In broad terms, securitisation turns a pool of loans into assets that can be sold to investors, transferring exposure associated with those loans rather than keeping every loan for its full term. The stated plan concerns how Revolut intends to manage lending as it grows; it should not be read as confirmation that the bank has already sold these UK loans.
Revolut aims to keep its loan-to-deposit ratio at roughly 6%, compared with ratios of roughly 100% typical of incumbent British high-street banks. That ratio compares the size of a bank’s lending book with its deposits. The contrast illustrates the balance-sheet model Revolut is seeking: a larger consumer-credit business without holding loans on the scale that traditional banks commonly do relative to deposits.
Selling loans would not remove the need for sound underwriting. Revolut still has to assess applicants when it originates credit. Because it lacks decades of proprietary data on borrower behaviour, it is supplementing automated underwriting algorithms with information purchased from external data providers. The quality of those decisions is relevant whether a loan remains on Revolut’s balance sheet or is eventually sold.
Product plans widen the governance test
Revolut UK has confirmed that it is actively preparing to launch a domestic credit card in the near future, followed by an eventual move into UK residential mortgages. Those are plans, not completed launches. Each additional product would broaden the decisions covered by product approval and risk oversight, the areas identified in the reported PRA review.
The expansion follows Revolut’s receipt of a full UK banking licence in March 2026. The PRA had granted authorisation with restrictions in July 2024, before Revolut completed its mobilisation period. The licence gives context to the bank’s domestic lending ambitions, while the reported review shows that supervisory attention to governance continues as its product range develops.
Revolut is also broadening what it offers retail customers beyond lending. It has unveiled a partnership with asset management company Carne that would allow them to invest in private technology companies. That initiative is distinct from consumer credit, but it adds to the range of products for which approval processes and oversight matter.
Rating highlights the credit question
On October 22, S&P Global assigned Revolut Ltd a BBB+ long-term issuer credit rating with a positive outlook. The agency also cited a risk that rapid lending growth across multiple jurisdictions could lead to higher credit losses over the next two to three years. Its assessment does not say those losses will occur; it identifies a risk accompanying expansion.
The commercial reason for the UK credit push is clear in the research: Revolut wants to raise average revenue per customer, a measure on which it trails traditional lenders including NatWest, Lloyds, Barclays and HSBC. Its scale offers an existing customer base for new products. Revolut serves 14 million UK users among more than 80 million customers globally.
The question is whether Revolut can turn that reach into a broader lending business while maintaining the low loan-to-deposit ratio it is targeting. Its proposed securitisation approach addresses how much credit exposure it intends to retain. The PRA’s reported review, and S&P Global’s warning about potential losses, focus attention on another part of the strategy: how reliably Revolut approves products and assesses credit as lending grows.
PhotonPay has closed a $40 million Series C round led by Blockchain Capital to expand its stablecoin-focused Financial OS. SBI Group joined as a new investor, alongside existing backers IDG Capital, GL Ventures and Lightspeed Faction. The funding follows a January 2026 Series B round. PhotonPay reported $65 billion in annualized transaction volume as of August 2026, up from $30 billion reported at the time of its Series B. Its model combines stablecoin liquidity with bank relationships and local payment networks, rather than replacing those networks outright. The company says it holds 34 payment and financial licenses and regulatory authorizations and serves more than 200,000 corporate clients. It also plans an execution layer supporting the Model Context Protocol for autonomous AI agents. The expansion comes as Stripe and specialist firms including Rain and MassPay pursue corporate settlement opportunities.
CRB Group, the parent of Cross River Bank, has agreed to acquire Accrue, a provider of branded wallets, stored-value infrastructure and customer loyalty software. The deal would bring technology already connected to the bank into its embedded finance business. Financial terms were not disclosed, and the transaction remained subject to customary closing conditions as of late October 2026. Cross River was already Accrue’s partner bank, holding Accrue Balance funds as an FDIC-insured depository and issuing linked Visa debit cards. Accrue’s software includes merchant-specific stored-value ledgers and a way to route merchandise refunds into store credit rather than back to an outside card issuer. Founder and CEO Michael Hershfield is set to lead Cross River’s embedded finance suite, while Accrue’s 26 staff members are expected to join Cross River’s workforce. The acquisition would move the two companies from a banking partnership to a shared operating structure, if completed.
Revolut’s expansion into UK consumer lending is facing closer regulatory scrutiny. The Financial Times reported on October 27, 2026, that the Bank of England’s Prudential Regulation Authority had ordered a Section 166 skilled-person review of the bank’s product approval processes and internal risk governance. The review comes as Revolut offers unsecured personal loans and prepares to introduce a domestic credit card, with mortgages planned later. Revolut UK CEO Francesca Carlesi has said the bank intends to package and sell loans through securitisation rather than retain substantial long-term credit exposure. Revolut is targeting a loan-to-deposit ratio of roughly 6%, far below the roughly 100% typical of incumbent British high-street banks. The strategy could support lending growth while limiting loans held on its balance sheet, but it does not eliminate credit risk. S&P Global has cited the possibility of higher credit losses as Revolut expands lending across multiple jurisdictions.
Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation (SMBC) and Ant International signed a memorandum of understanding on October 26, 2026, to explore cross-border payments and digital treasury services. Their initial focus is Japan, Singapore and wider Southeast Asia. Engineering teams will examine whether Ant International’s Whale RTP platform can be integrated with SMBC’s institutional transaction banking and digital asset platforms. The agreement is exploratory, not the launch of a live settlement service. SMBC’s multi-market transaction banking rails are expected to support operations involving Ant International’s Alipay+, Antom and WorldFirst businesses. Ant International says its Whale platform processed more than US$600 billion in global treasury flows in 2025, with over 95% of transactions settling on the same day. Those figures describe the existing platform, not activity under the SMBC agreement. The MoU follows separate tokenized-deposit work involving Ant International and other banks, including a live OCBC solution and an HSBC pilot.
Tech Mahindra and Finastra announced on October 23, 2026, that Tech Mahindra had completed its acquisition of Finastra’s cash management products and related intellectual property. The deal moves Tech Mahindra beyond implementing banking software for clients and into owning transaction banking products. Financial terms were not disclosed. The acquired portfolio includes Fusion Cash Management, Fusion Virtual Accounts and Fusion Liquidity Management, along with CashPlus, Global CashPlus and associated transaction banking APIs. Finastra product engineering and customer success personnel are being moved into Tech Mahindra’s banking, financial services and insurance division. Tech Mahindra plans to integrate the products into its existing Finastra Centre of Excellence to maintain service continuity for banking clients. The acquisition follows Tech Mahindra’s earlier purchase of an 85% stake in Canadian fintech Avant Techno Solutions and comes as Finastra divests businesses to concentrate on lending and payments software.
The European Payments Council implemented Version 1.1 of its Verification of Payee scheme rulebook on September 20, 2026, clarifying operations, API specifications and security after feedback from live deployment. Its directory service, operated with SWIFT, has also completed a live transition supporting provider reachability and routing. The changes come as non-eurozone EU payment providers work toward a July 9, 2027, compliance deadline. Required under the EU Instant Payments Regulation for both instant and standard SEPA credit transfers, Verification of Payee checks recipient details before authorization and must be offered free to users. The inter-provider exchange has a five-second operational maximum and can return a match, close match, no match or verification-not-possible result. A close match supplies the verified recipient name for the payer to review. A warning does not necessarily prevent a transfer: liability depends on whether a payer proceeds despite it or a provider fails to perform a required check.



